U.S. Customs and Border Protection has announced new fees for persons seeking authorization to travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program.  The authorization is obtained prior to travel through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA), and typically remains valid for two years.  Beginning on September 8, 2010, the ESTA travel authorization will require a valid credit card for payment of a $14.00 fee.  The purpose of the fee is to finance efforts to promote international travel to the United States, and cover operational costs associated with running the ESTA program.  Individuals who already possess ESTA authorization do not need to pay the fee until it is time for them to reapply.