The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) may designate a country for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) when conditions make it unsafe for citizens of that country who are in the United States to safely return.  TPS is usually granted when there is ongoing armed conflict, an environmental disaster, or other extraordinary and temporary conditions.  Due to the recent Ebola outbreak in western Africa, DHS has designated Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone for TPS.

Nationals of these countries who have continuously resided in the United States since November 20, 2014, and who remain “continuously physically present” in the United States since November 21, 2014, may register for TPS and apply for U.S. employment authorization between November 21, 2014, and May 20, 2015.  Approved applicants will be granted TPS for 18 months.  Depending on ongoing conditions in these countries, DHS may renew the TPS program for additional 18-month periods.

Nationals of these countries who require assistance to apply for TPS or obtain other immigration relief are encouraged to contact an immigration attorney or a reputable legal service organization, such as Catholic Charities.